Nigeria’s Supreme Court Upholds Election of Seyi Makinde, el-Rufai, Sule As Governors


It was jubilation on the streets of Ibadan, Kaduna and Keffi the state capitals, as Nigeria’s Supreme Court on Wednesday confirmed the election of Seyi Makinde, Nasir el-Rufai and Abdullahi Sule as governors of Oyo, Kaduna and Nasarawa States.

Oyo Election

In a unanimous judgment, the Apex Court found merit in the appeal filed by Mr. Makinde that the majority judgment of the Appeal Court was a miscarriage of justice.

The court, therefore, affirmed the majority judgment of the trial tribunal, which upheld the election of Makinde as the duly elected governor of Oyo State.

The judgment applies to the remaining three appeals emanating from the election.

Kaduna Election

The Supreme also sustained the election of Nasir El-Rufai as Kaduna State governor.

In a unanimous judgment delivered by Justice Centus Nweze, the appeal filed by Mr Isa Ashiru of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) challenging the election is lacking in merit and it is therefore dismissed.

Nasarawa Election

The Supreme Court also upheld the election of Governor Abdullahi Sule of Nasarawa State.

The seven-man panel of the apex court led by Justice Mary Peter-Odili dismissed the appeal filed by David Ombugadu and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to challenge Sule’s victory at the March 9, 2019 election.

The court held that the appellant failed to prove allegations of substantial non-compliance in the election.







Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *