Fayemi Unveils 32-member Transition Committee


By AYODELE ABERE in Ado Ekiti•

Ekiti State governor-elect, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has released a list of eminent citizens of the state that will serve in the Governorship Transition Committee, charged with the responsibility of liaising
with the outgoing administration for a smooth transition ahead of the October 16th take off date of the new government in the state.

A former member of the National Assembly heads the 32-member committee, Senator Olubunmi Adetunmbi as chairman, while a former Chairman of Ijero Local Government Council, Hon Abiodun Omoleye will serve as deputy Chairman. A former Permanent Secretary in the state’s civil service, Mr.
Ayodeji Ajayi, is the secretary of the committee.

The Committee, which is to be known as the Ekiti State 2018 JKF/APC Governorship Transition Committee, according to a statement signed by the Special Adviser on Media to the Governor-elect, Mr Yinka Oyebode, the inauguration of the Governorship Transition Committee will hold at the Conference Hall, AB Hotels, Ado-Ekiti on Wednesday, July 25th, by 12noon.

The members include: Senator Olubunmi Adetunmbi -Chairman, Hon. Abiodun Omoleye  – Deputy Chairman, Dr. (Mrs) Moji Yaya Kolade, Prof. Eddy Olanipekun, Chief Ropo Adesanya, Dr. Dare Ojo, Prof. Tale Omole, Hon. Olubunmi Oriniowo, Mr. Tunde Olatunde, Mr .Debo Ranti Ajayi.

Others are Mr. Ade Omonijo, Alhaji Afolabi Ogunlayi, Barrister Wale Fapohunda, Mr.Dapo Kolawole, Chief Kola Akosile, Mr. Phillip Amujo, Barrister Paul Omotosho, Chief Taiwo Olatunbosun, Engr. TundeAlabi, Mr.Abiodun Oyebanji, Prof. (Mrs.) Francesca Aladejana.

The rest are:  Mr.Seyi Aiyeleso , Dr. (Mrs.) Ayeni Agbaje,   Mr. Ayo- Owolabi,  Mrs. FolushoOlaniyan,  Alhaja S. Badmus,  Mrs. Sola Salako-Ajulo,  Mr.Eyitayo Fabunmi,  Mrs.Toyosi Omope,  Hon. Bunmi Akinniyi, Hon. Seyi Shittu,  Mr.Ayodeji Ajayi -Member/Secretary

The terms of Reference of the committee members include: to develop a clear framework for liaison and establish clear channels of formal communications with the outgoing administration for the purposes of a smooth transition.

Review and make preliminary assessment of the fiscal position of government with particular emphasis on: Status of assets and liabilities of government, status of implementation of the 2018

They are also to look into the Revenue and cash flow position of government, Public debt profile of government and their deployment, salary arrears due to all public-sector workers and pensioners.

They will further determine the status of public procurement of government with particular emphasis on: Government’s on-going and outstanding contractual obligations, to receive handover documents from Ministries, Departments and agencies of government, with a view to understanding the most important operational, regulatory and/or urgent issues confronting the incoming administration, in order to guide the fine-tuning and prioritisation of programmes and policies in the incoming administration’s governance agenda.

Interface with various stakeholders’ groups such as labour unions, traditional rulers; academia; religious bodies; transport workers, Market men and women; artisans; professionals; farmers CDAs; etc; with a view to ascertaining their expectations of the incoming administration. The committee shall submit its final report by Friday, September 7, 2018, the statement concluded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *